Barrasso, Lummis Join Bill to Secure the Southern Border

September 21, 2023

WASHINGTON, DC – U.S. Senators John Barrasso and Cynthia Lummis, both R-Wyo., joined U.S. Senator Ted Cruz (R-Texas) and their Republican colleagues in introducing the Secure the Border Act of 2023

This legislation will restart construction of a border wall, tighten asylum standards, criminalize visa overstays and increase the number of Border Patrol Agents. It will also defund NGOs receiving tax dollars to help traffic illegal aliens and prohibit the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) from using an app to assist illegal aliens, and more. 

“President Biden and the Democrats have surrendered our Southern Border to criminals, gang members, and drug dealers,” said Senator Barrasso. “Cartels are running a billion-dollar criminal enterprise that is flooding our country with illegal immigrants and deadly fentanyl in every state. Wyoming is no exception. Our comprehensive legislation is a critical step in successfully tackling this Democrat-made crisis. We must do everything in our power to provide security and safety to our communities and actually secure our Southern Border once again.”

“President Biden has neglected the crisis at our southwest border for far too long and if he won’t do his job, then Congress must,” said Senator Lummis. “The Secure the Border Act would take necessary steps to regain control of our border by building a wall, hiring more Border Patrol agents, tightening asylum laws and much more. This bill will protect Wyoming by restoring order at the border and fighting back against murderous drug cartels who have poisoned our communities with deadly fentanyl.”

Cosponsors of this legislation include U.S. Senators Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), JD Vance (R-Ohio), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Eric Schmitt (R-Mo.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), John Thune (R-S.D.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Katie Britt (R-Ala.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), AND Ron Johnson (R-Wis.).


The Secure the Border Act of 2023:

  • Requires the Department of Homeland Security to resume border wall construction.
  • Increases the number of Border Patrol Agents.
  • Tightens asylum standards by restricting asylum to only aliens who present at ports of entry and by requiring aliens to prove they are “more likely than not” to qualify for their asylum claim.
  • Narrows DHS’s power to unilaterally grant parole to illegal aliens.
  • Criminalizes visa overstays by making the first offense a misdemeanor punishable by up to a $1,000 fine and the second offense a felony punishable by up to a $2,000 fine and up to two years imprisonment.
  • Stops NGOs from using tax dollars to transport or lodge illegal aliens and provide illegal aliens with lawyers.
  • Restricts DHS from using its CBP One app to welcome illegal aliens into the country.
  • Requires employers to use E-Verify.
  • Ensures CBP has access to the criminal history databases of all countries of origin and transit so that CBP is aware of the criminal history of illegal aliens encountered at the southern border.

Full text of the legislation can be found here.